Log in


The Collin County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was initiated by three Sorors with a passion for Sisterhood and Community Service. These three visionaries were Sorors Angela Woods, Sonya Turner, and Karen Jefferson. Initially, they met in March 2007 to organize community service activities then they began to explore the viability of chartering a chapter in Collin County. They discussed reaching out to the Regional Director to understand the logistics involved in the chartering process.

A subsequent meeting was held on April 3, 2007. During this meeting, Sorors Jefferson, Turner, and Woods worked on drafting letters to Soror Gwendolyn Grant (Southwest Regional Director) and to each local chapter in the DFW Metroplex to inform them of their intent to establish an "effort to charter". This sparked a project plan to develop a comprehensive list of tasks required to obtain a charter. A tentative date was set to host a "chartering interest meeting". An agenda for the interest meeting was defined and tentative next meeting dates agreed upon.

From the charter's inception, these ladies knew that their efforts would require much work. Therefore, over the next month several planning meetings were held and additional Sorors joined the planning. This team included Sorors Angela Woods, Sonya Turner, Karen Jefferson, Andrea Dennis, Kimberly Davis, Cherise Brown, Deidre Marshall and Angela Oates. These ladies became the "Core Team" that would set forth, plans, goals, and activities for future meetings on the subject of chartering a chapter.

Under the guidance of Soror Gwendolyn Grant (Regional Director) and Soror Pamela Rogers (Scholarship and Standards), letters to each of the DFW chapters
were sent and a meeting of the local President's Council was scheduled. After hundreds of emails, phone calls, and meetings, a "Collin County Chartering Effort" was established and communicated to Sorors throughout the Collin County community. On June 24, 2007 at the Benton Pointe Clubhouse in Allen, TX approximately 90 active and inactive Sorors came together to confirm their interest and began the journey towards chartering a chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority in Collin County. From this, the "Effort to Charter in Collin County" was born!

Due the efforts of these three Sorors and the diligence of others, the Collin County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on
March 30, 2008 at the Stonebridge Ranch Country Club in McKinney, Texas under the direction of the Southwest Regional Director, Soror Gwendolyn Grant, Southwest Regional Representative Soror Brittany Bass and then National 1st Vice President, Soror Cynthia M. A. Butler McIntyre.

Collin County Alumnae Chapter Mission

The mission of Collin County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is to:

  • Empower children and families to achieve lifelong successes in their communities,

  • Provide public service to all communities in Collin County in partnership with organizations throughout the area,

  • Bring about a change in individuals and in society, continuously setting the bar higher as goals are met, and

  • Be informed and responsible for implementing the Five Point Program Thrust of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and reaching beyond this strong foundation to connect people and enrich lives in the communities we serve.

Through a spirit of sisterhood, we will maintain unity with our local chapters and Grand Chapter while remaining focused on the Cardinal Virtues and spiritual principles upon which our Sorority was founded.

Delta Sigma Theta National Chapter

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding more than 200,000 women have joined the organization. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization's Five Point Programmatic Thrust. More than ten thousand members typically attend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated's biennial national conventions, and each of the seven regional conferences (held during years when there is no national convention) typically hosts thousands of members. At its recent 51st National convention held in the District of Columbia, more than 38,000 members registered and attended.

Delta Sigma Theta Regional Chapter

We are so very eager and excited to represent and serve the Blazing Southwest Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for the 2020-2022 biennium. The Region is the home to 138 collegiate and alumnae chapters in the great states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Texas and the island of Jamaica. With a rich history of service, a solid legacy of leadership and a thirst to empower we work untiringly to exceed expectations and impact positive change on our campuses, in our communities and globally.

Collin County Alumnae Chapter
P.O. Box 10
Allen, TX 75013

Pages to stay Connected

This Website is the sole property and responsibility of the Collin County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

©2008-2022 - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Collin County Alumnae Chapter - All Rights Reserved

Visit Delta Sigma Theta's national website at

Visit the Southwest Region's website at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software